Organisational Structure

The National Committee (NC) of CAPEA, Inc. comprises the office-bearers elected at the National Annual General Meeting held between September and November (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer).
It also includes elected and appointed members: elected State Representatives, appointed Membership Officer, Engagement Officer, Chairperson of the Further Education Committee (FEC), the Biennial Conference Convenor and the Public Officer.

The National Committee meets at least 4 times a year, usually via zoom meeting.

Each state and territory may have a branch of CAPEA Inc., with a State Branch Committee comprised of an elected President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and State Representative. There may also be appointed members at large. The State Representative (who could also be the State President or other state office-bearer) liaises and reports between the State and the NC.

CAPEA Organisational chart

National Committee

National President: Karen Logan (NSW)
National Vice-President: Vacant
National Secretary: Rebecca Clark (ACT)
National Treasurer: Kaye Dyson (Vic)

State Representatives

NSW & ACT: Meredith Haultain
QLD & NT: Helen Gunter
Victoria: Marie Treloar
SA: Lisa Masters 
ACT: Rebecca Clark

National CAPEA will support members from NT, WA, SA, TAS and overseas via regular monthly email newsletters and provide information regarding upcoming webinars, seminars and workshops.

Further Education Committee (FEC)

The Further Education Committee (FEC) is a designated subcommittee of the National CAPEA. The FEC provides a leadership role in practice-based learning and professional development including, but not limited to:

  1. development and ongoing review of the Competency Standards for Childbirth and Early Parenting Educators, and development of Scope of Practice
  2. development of processes for CAPEA endorsement of educational programs for Childbirth and Parenting Educators, certification of childbirth and Parenting educators, and endorsement of products, services and/or activities relevant to birth and parenting educators
  3. awarding of certification and endorsement as identified in point 2

Chairperson: Vacant
Jan Dilworth (NSW)
Donna Griffis (NSW)
Jacqui Morrison (Qld)
Karen McClay (NSW)
Kassie Whitworth (SA)
Dr Sheridan Guyatt (Qld)
Dr Karen McLaughlin (NSW)
Rebecca Clark (ACT)
Bithia O’Brien

National Membership Officer

Cathie Rosser

International Journal of Birth & Parenting Education


Engagement Officer

Alison Summerville

State Committees

See the State Committees in the members area.

Public Officer

Cathie Rosser

ABN: 75 001 526 865

Shopping Cart